promoting care, opposing euthanasia

twitter facebook youtube rss rss

MPs: up palliative care funding

more: Letters, Palliative Care, Letters/Palliative Care, Legislation, Letters/Legislation

24th September 2015

Following the Commons' rejection of assisted suicide as a response to end of life challenges, 60 MPs have together called for increased funding for care and research

MPs: up palliative care funding

The letter, signed by MPs from across both the country and the political divide, was published in The Times:


After informed, compassionate, reasoned and detailed contributions from all sides and all parties, more than half the House of Commons last week voted to reject the proposal that doctors should be licensed to help their patients kill themselves. This followed similar rejections in the Scottish parliament and Welsh assembly in the past year. Many MPs stated that instead the way forward should be to improve the quality and availability of palliative care.

It is therefore now right that parliament, and the government, show the same rigour and compassion in seeking the best available care and support for those facing the challenge of terminal or chronic illness, and that substantially increased funds are provided to support end-of-life care and further research in this area, building on the huge progress made in this country on end-of-life care over recent decades. It is the least that we, as a society, owe to our elderly and vulnerable. In an aging population this is an urgent and essential responsibility.

Rt Hon Frank Field MP

Rt Hon Dr Liam Fox MP

Rt Hon Jeffrey Donaldson MP

Rt Hon David Lammy MP

Rt Hon Gisela Stuart MP

Rt Hon Stephen Timms MP

Sir David Amess MP

Sir William Cash MP

Sir Roger Gale MP

Sir Edward Leigh MP

Stuart Andrew MP

Caroline Ansell MP

Sir Henry Bellingham MP

Bob Blackman MP

Lady Victoria Borwick MP

Graham Brady MP

Lyn Brown MP

Fiona Bruce MP

Conor Burns MP

Simon Burns MP

David Burrowes MP

Gregory Campbell MP

Maria Caulfield MP

Dr Thérèse Coffey MP

Rosie Cooper MP

Neil Coyle MP

Jim Cunningham MP

Nigel Dodds MP

Nadine Dorries MP

Steve Double MP

Flick Drummond MP

Rob Flello MP

John Glen MP

Sir Alan Haselhurst MP

Susan Elan Jones MP

Mike Kane MP

Seema Kennedy MP

Jeremy Lefroy MP

Tim Loughton MP

Paul Maynard MP

Siobhain McDonagh MP

Mark Menzies MP

Bob Neill MP

Ian Paisley MP

Neil Parish MP

Mark Pawsey MP

John Pugh MP

Yasmin Qureshi MP

Jonathan Reynolds MP

Gavin Robinson MP

Jim Shannon MP

Virendra Sharma MP

Gavin Shuker MP

Caroline Spelman MP

Gary Streeter MP

Kelly Tolhurst MP

Michael Tomlinson MP

Anne-Marie Trevelyan MP

Valerie Vaz MP

Sammy Wilson MP

© Image copyright of UK Parliament and licensed for reuse under Creative Commons Licence

more Palliative Care

more Legislation


there are no comments at this time.
Please enable javascript to post comments!